+ 001 0231 123 32

The IAAHPC is proud to offer two students a year complimentary conference registration and partial travel funds to attend our annual conference through the Kathleen Cooney Scholarship Fund.  This fund, created in 2017, is in honor of our 2015 President Dr. Kathleen Cooney, a pioneer in the field of animal hospice and palliative care.  Dr. Cooney was instrumental within the IAAHPC's Education Committee and subsequent organization and promotion of our annual conferences.  Dr. Cooney coordinated our conferences from 2011 to 2015 and continues to volunteer her time each year to help make them a success.  She was a Board Member through 2016, and as a show of the IAAHPC's appreciation, was granted a scholarship in her name.  Dr. Cooney is passionate about education within the veterinary community and it is our pleasure to advocate advanced student education through this fund.

Apply for the scholarship here


Kathleen Cooney, DVM, MS, CHPV, has been practicing advanced end-of-life care since 2006.  She is the founder of Cooney Animal Hospice Consulting and is a past President of the International Association for Animal Hospice and Palliative Care (IAAHPC).  Dr. Cooney remains active in their organization, including design of their Animal Hospice and Palliative Care Certification Program, launched in 2016. Dr. Cooney was one of the first in the world to become a certified provider of animal hospice and palliative care (CHPV). She is well-known for her work in companion animal euthanasia and has authored two books on the subject. Dr. Cooney has collaborated in euthanasia training for the AVMA, AAHA, IAAHPC, and in 2016, launched a certificate program for the Companion Animal Euthanasia Training Academy.  She is a strong advocate for best practices in all aspects of end-of-life care and speaks nationally and internationally on such topics.


KCSF2017photo 2018scholarship
2017 Recipients
Mark Jeon, Colorado State University DVM class of 2018
Victoria Benson, Lincoln Memorial University DVM class of 2018
2018 Recipients
Amanda Sautner, North Carolina State University DVM class of 2021
Shannon Shum, University of Guelph DVM class of 2019